Home

Highway sign showing curve ahead - blurred background.

I can pinpoint the exact moment I lost control of the game.

It was two days after our first kiss.

I don’t exactly know how it happened, whether it was the excitement of the weekend approaching or the fact that I had already had a couple of beers at work, but I found myself craving him.

It was crazy, but my entire body, my mind, my thoughts, all craved Alex the Architect.

He told me he would be at a nearby bar after work… if I happened to be in the area, I should drop past.

There was no question about it – I would definitely be there – all game strategies were well and truly forgotten.

As I entered the bar, I immediately spotted him – sitting amongst a group of his friends with his back to me.

I couldn’t rationalise how the fuck I was so attracted to him when I felt absolutely nothing for him only two days earlier.

I remember I tapped him on the shoulder. He immediately got to his feet, hugged me and kissed me passionately in front of his friends.

This… this was the exact moment I lost sight of my mission.

The moment that a swarm of butterflies came to life in my stomach.

The moment that I felt electricity run through my body when he kissed me.

This is the exact moment I lost control of the game.

I didn’t know it at the time amongst the confusion and the rush, but amazingly and terrifyingly, my friend Fran’s prediction had come true – I had fallen hard.

Leave a Reply

